State Minimum Wages | 2020 Minimum Wage by State
The table below reflects current state minimum wages in effect as of Jan. 1, 2020, as well as future enacted increases. Summary 2020 Highlights Twenty-one states began 2020 with higher minimum wages. Seven states (Alaska, Florida, Minnesota, Montana, Ohio, South Dakota, and Vermont) automatically increased their rates based on the cost of living, while 14 states (Arizona,…Read More
IN: What Are The Minimum Wage Laws In The U.S?
Dear Valued Customer, A minimum wage is the lowest hourly, daily or monthly remuneration that employers may legally pay to workers. In this issue of “—————-” we focus on understanding exactly what that means and your obligations under this law. What exactly is the federal minimum wage? Must young workers be paid the minimum wage? What is the minimum wage…Read More
Questions & Answers About The Minimum Wage
What is the federal minimum wage? Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the federal minimum wage for covered nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009. Many states also have minimum wage laws. Where an employee is subject to both the state and federal minimum wage laws, the employee is entitled to the higher minimum wage rate.…Read More
Must Young Workers Be Paid The Minimum Wage?
Must young workers be paid the minimum wage? The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires payment of at least the Federal minimum wage to covered, nonexempt employees. However, a special minimum wage of $4.25 per hour applies to employees under the age of 20 during their first 90 consecutive calendar days of employment with an employer. After 90 days, the…Read More